Multi-process · PRIMEWELD

PRIMEWELD CT520D Multi-Process Welder

Multi-process, up to 200 A

Updated October 2026

Quick verdict

Built for A shop that does a bit of everything.

Strength
Up to 200 A output.
Trade-off
Duty cycle not stated with amps.
Right buyer
A shop that does a bit of everything.
Processes
TIG and stick
Output range
200 A
Max steel (maker)
up to 1/2"
AC / DC
dc tig
Prices change often; the button shows today's price.

Each button opens this exact model. We may earn a commission on tracked links; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

What it welds

The PRIMEWELD CT520D Multi-Process Welder is a multi-process with a maker-stated output of up to 200 amps.

Miller's starting rule, 1 amp for each 0.001 inch of steel, puts 200 amps at roughly 0.200 in of steel in one pass; thicker work means bevels and more passes. Run the amperage selector.

The maker's thickness claim reads "up to 1/2"". Makers often mean multiple passes or flux-core wire when a claim runs past the amps rule; the wording here says which.

The listing doesn't give a duty cycle with its amperage, which makes long beads hard to plan; the rating plate or manual should state it. Why it matters.

Processes, per the maker: TIG and stick. Most multi-process machines' TIG is DC lift-arc, so no aluminium unless AC is stated. Choosing a process.

Use a lens of at least OSHA's minimum shade for the current: shade 10 or darker for typical MIG work here. Shade chart.

Is it the right machine for the job?

Buy it for

  • A shop that does a bit of everything
  • Steel to about 0.200 in per pass

Skip it for

  • Steel much past 0.200 in in one pass

What it does well, where it falls short

Does well

  • Up to 200 A output
  • Multi-process

Falls short

  • Duty cycle not stated with amps
  • Torches may be extra

Power and setup notes

  • Ratings are the maker's own, stated under the maker's conditions. Follow the manual, wear eye protection of at least OSHA's minimum shade, keep combustibles away, ventilate, and have a licensed electrician install new circuits.

Rated output and specs

Every figure below comes from the source shown in brackets. Where the maker doesn't state something, we say so instead of estimating.

Model numberCT520DRetailer
Output range200 ARetailer
Max steel (maker)up to 1/2"Retailer
ProcessesTIG and stickRetailer
AC / DCdc tigRetailer

Machines to put next to it

Other multi-process welders in the same amp range

Every multi-process welders on one spec sheet · All PRIMEWELD machines listed

Final verdict

Built for A shop that does a bit of everything.

Where to buy

Our links open this exact model's product page. Prices and stock change; check what's included before you order.

Prices change often; the button shows today's price.

Each button opens this exact model. We may earn a commission on tracked links; it never changes what we publish. Disclosure

Questions buyers ask

How thick can the PRIMEWELD CT520D Multi-Process Welder weld?
The maker states "up to 1/2"". By Miller's 1 A per 0.001 in rule its 200 A top output reaches about 0.200 in in one pass.
What is the PRIMEWELD CT520D Multi-Process Welder's duty cycle?
The listing doesn't state it with an amperage; check the rating plate or manual.